September 2 Foodsies

After our hike I had a nice wrap that had SWEET POTATO (I know, I know SP again). I took a TJ’s whole grain tortilla wrap, added a laughing cow cheese, tomato, turkey, and SP and panini’d it! I also had some carrot sticks and TJ pretzels with hummus. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

    Glorious! 

 

 

 

 

 

For dinner we decided to tap into our Inner-Pueblo and have a southwest inspired casserole! 

Preheat the oven to 350*F and then mix cooked chicken, a can of black beans, a cup of reduced fat cheddar cheese, a jalapeno pepper, a pinch of cumin and pepper, and greek yogurt in a bowl and set aside. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then cut 6 corn tortillas in half and layer a greased pie plate with about 4 of them. Add about 1/3 of the black bean/chicken mix and then add another layer of corn tortillas until you have used up all of your ingredients. (Special note: I decided to add tomato slices to each layer…feel free to add any other fresh veggies you like) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then pop your layered thing into the oven for 30 minutes until the cheese bubbles. 

 

 

 

After some time in the oven. It will come out looking like this…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feel free to add some salsa or hot sauce. Check out our bulk Tapatio hot sauce! We put it on everything and I’ve also noticed if you use hot sauce you won’t eat as fast which has always been my main problem. I eat so fast  not realizing that if I took my time and slowed down I wouldn’t eat as much. 

 

 

  Dad always said, “Don’t eat anything that is bigger than your head!”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then, the most important part of the evening: Get your adorable boyfriend to do the dishes because you slaved in the kitchen for the past 45 minutes over a home cooked meal! *I’ll make sure to get some ocular proof soon that Garrett does actually clean up at our house*

 

 

Leave a Reply

